Sunday, 30 November 2008

N'Dea Davenport - Bring It On 1998

V2 Records VVR5002033

After joining The Brand New Heavies in 1990, N'dea Davenport moved to London, England. Her solo aspirations were postponed to record two albums for them and she featured on Trust Me, a collaboration with rapper Guru in 1993. She departed from the Heavies in 1994 to pursue a solo career. Her critically acclaimed solo debut album was produced in part by Dallas Austin and Davenport herself. The self-titled album was released in 1998 on V2 Records. Several singles were culled from the album including Bring It On.

Gang Starr's Premier & Guru give it the remix treatment, Guru putting a few lines in on one mix but for me its all about the Tony Maserati Mix. Hex Hector, don't get me started on that.

  • Album Mix
  • Premier & Guru Mix feat. Guru
  • Tony Maserati Mix
  • Premier & Guru Mix
  • Hex Hector 12" Instrumental
The Download Link is here: Download
Filename: Ndea 98.rar Filesize: 45.77 MB

Friday, 28 November 2008

Nu Colours - Power 1992

Wild Card Records CARDD 3

Nu Colours were the gospel group and looked likely to make a cross over into the mainstream. The Gospel group comprising Lain Gray (Lain provided some great vocals for Jason Chue a.k.a. Wookie on 'Battle' amongst many others), Lawrence Johnson, Sophia Johnson, Patricia Knight and the legendary Fay Simpson.

Fay is one of the most experienced singers on the UK gospel scene. She honed her craft growing up in the Church of God of Prophecy in Harlesden, north west London, and at 19 joined Nu Colours, who had a deal with a secular label. She left the group in 1995 and began song writing and vocal arranging.

After singing on the UK gospel circuit, Lain Gray was asked to join premier gospel outfit Nu Colours in 1991, Lawrence Johnson, founder member of the group, was calling Lain for auditions saying he was putting some band together. Later he said, 'Oh, in case you don't get this, would you be interested in being involved with Nu Colours?'

is written by producer Ian Green and group vocalists Lawrence Johnson & Fay Simpson with Monie Love writing and performing the rap. The Evergreen Mix is the Ian Green single release while the Garage Mix and Underground Dub are remixed by Paul Gotel, the dub is a Well Hung Parliament mix along with his sidekick, Spencer Williams.

Tears is the Frankie Knuckles Instrumental which is somewhat odd as it was originally a Frankie Knuckles & Satoshi Tomiie song and without Nu Colours vocals it still is, even though its produced by V Outfit.

  • Power (Evergreen Mix)
  • Power (Garage Mix)
  • Tears (FK Instrumental)
  • Power (Underground Dub)
The Download Link is here: Download
Filename: Nu Colours.rar Filesize: 31.89 MB

Sunday, 16 November 2008

Headz - 1994

Mo Wax Records MWCD026

OK, this isn't soul, per se, but its damn good music that belongs in a Soul & Dance arena. Leftfield, fair enough, but interesting and skillfully executed. This is for the Hip Hop avant garde, lovers of the Low End Theory, the Jazz Headz.

A collage of beautiful jams, 16 instrumental excursions, my favourites being Freedom Now (Meditation) by Patterson, Contemplating Jazz by Attica Blues, Ravers Suck Our Sound by LA Funk Mob and the DJ Shadow tracks, Lost & Found (S.F.L.) & In-Flux (Alternative Interlude '93 Remix). Also worthy of a mention is the Palm Skin Productions - Slipper Suite comprising
  1. Jeremy's Velvet Slippers
  2. Moonrakers
  3. Unspeakable Acts
It's all good, insert disc, press play, lay back and do your thing!

This 2 CD set came in a plastic gatefold wallet with two CDs each in its own sleeve.

It was later reissued carrying the same catalog number but in plain grey card sleeves without the artwork. I don't think its available anymore. OK, I admit it, it was an easy post but the turntable is out and ready to work.

  • Patterson - Freedom Now
  • Attica Blues - Contemplating Jazz
  • Awunsound - Symmetrical Jazz
  • Nightmares On Wax - Stars
  • La Funk Mob - Ravers Suck Our Sound
  • M.F. Outa 'National Miles Out Of Time
  • RPM - The Inside
  • Autechre - Lowride
  • Olde Scottish - Wildstyle: The Krush Handshake
  • DJ Shadow - Lost & Found
  • Skull - Destroy All Monsters
  • Deflon Sallahr - ... Don't Fake It
  • RPM - 2000
  • Palm Skin Productions - Slipper Suite
  • UNKLE - The Time Has Come
  • Howie B Inc. - Head West
  • Tranquility Bass - They Came In Peace
  • DJ Shadow - In-Flux
The Download Link is here: Download
Filename: Headz.rar Filesize: 189.55 MB

Monday, 10 November 2008

Courtney Buchanan - R U Conscious 1993

Conscious Records MCSTD 1792

Courtney Buchanan gained critical acclaim with his single release Life With You in '92. His second single release 'R U Conscious - The Chapters' (CON 14) was licensed from Conscious Records by MCA a scored a minor hit in 1993.

The CD single release features the additional Hip Hop Edit and the Final Chapter (Instrumental). Buchanan was hot property in '93 and Soul II Soul's Daddae Harvey is involved on the remixes. His Soul Mix: The Final Chapter was always the one that got the drop back in the day. Listening now, I think the Album Version is the better mix.

In 1994 he dropped a stunning release called Heaven which I never got my hands on. It's supposedly taken from an album called 'Kingdom Come' but I've never come across either.

  • Chapter One (Hip Hop Edit)
  • Chapter One (Full Hip Hop Mix)
  • Chapter Two (Ragga Mix)
  • Chapter Three (Album Version)
  • Chapter Four (Soul Mix)
  • Final Chapter (Instrumental)
The Download Link is here: Download
Filename: Courtney Buchanan.rar Filesize: 41.52 MB

Saturday, 8 November 2008

Portrait - Here We Go! 1993

Capitol Records CDCL 683

Portrait are Michael Angelo Saulsberry, Irving Washington III, Eric Kirkland and Philip Johnson. This US group from Los Angeles, debuted in 1992 with Honey Dip and Here We Go Again! was the follow up which was a little more successful. They rode in on the back of New Jack Swing which was just starting to fade in the UK at the time.

This 1993 UK release features the US Extended Version that works the New Jack vibe well (with Bonus Beats) while the UK is catered for with the Dr. Bob Jones Deep Cut Surgery Mix. Need I say more?

As with Brian McKnight, they got involved in the Black Men United project, singing on U Will Know for the Jason's Lyric ost. Working with Quincy Jones, Babyface and Tamia kept them in the public eye but covering a Bee Gees song lost them a lot of credibility and they fell from grace. They are still recording, their last release was in 2005 on the foreign market.

The Download Link is here: Download
Filename: Portrait.rar Filesize: 28.8 MB

Apologies for the crappy CD jpg but the outer ring text is mirror effect and I can't get a scan?